10 things you should know about Training at Songhai Farms

Songhai Farms, Porto-Novo

Songhai Farms, Porto-Novo, Benin Republic.

In the past months, I have received so many emails, facebook messages and calls requesting how to get trained at the Songhai Farms and research center located in Porto-Novo Benin Republic.

To assist the numerous youth and individuals interested in getting trained find below some key information you should know.

1. It is important you have an international / ECOWAS passport plus a yellow card. This allows you easy movement across the boarder and means of identification during your period of training. Official currency is France Cefa (CFA) with 1Naira been between 2.80CFA-3CFA depending on exchange rates.

2. As an international trainees, there are two modes of training to be explored
I. Daily training : this is usually charged daily .This is for training between 2days to 3months. Participants of this module are charged 15000CFA(5000Naira) per day of training.
II. Long term training: This usually a from a minimum of 4months to 18months maximum of training program. Participants of this module are charged 40,000CFA (14,250Naira) per month. This is in my personal opinion is most preferable and economical . As you can do 4months to 6months.( Personally, I trained for 6months)

3. After exploring and making a choice from the two options you have(Download training brochure from the link below), send an email to formation@songhai.org /songhai@songhai.org . The purpose of the email is to inform the administration of your intention to train at the farm and the proposed date. Usually, they respond to emails promptly. However, if they do not, it is advised that you take a trip down there to make all necessary arrangement. You can call them too Tel: (+ 229) 20 24 60 92-20 24 68 81

4. Payment for training can be made at once or split into two to three payment especially for those staying for 4months and above.

5. The training fee does not include accommodation nor feeding. It is strictly for your training. For accommodation there are 3 options namely: pay for an accommodation on the farm itself (very expensive), search for an accommodation within the Porto-novo town (price is moderate), Pay for a bed space at the Ministry of Horticulture, right beside the farm.(Cost is currently about 5000Naira per month, and covers electricity and water). Be prepared also to either eat out or cook where ever you are putting up.

6. The training course allows you to choose a variety of modules to learn from ranging from field work to agri processing and marketing. Training is also 70percent practical and 30 percent theory. Of course be ready to work hard and learn.

7. You do not need many clothes while making plans. On arrival you get a pair of work shirts and you can dedicate a pair of jean and booth. A few Extra clothes can be brought along for sight seeing and evening outings.

A snap shot during a break at work at SONGHAI CENTRE

A typical day on the farm

8. The official language is French so be open to learn and speak the basics. Motor bikes popularly called ‘keke’ are the mode of transportation within the regions. While buses and cabs are used to move across regions.

9. Work schedule is from 7.30am – 10.00am then breakfast follows for 30 minutes. From 10.30am to 12.30pm work continues. Lunch break is 12.30pm to 3.00pm after which the last lap of work runs from 3.oopm to 6.00pm (Mondays to Friday). Saturday is half day and thus work ends 12.30pm.

10. Be open minded, Not very often do you get a place to learn something new each day. Plus have fun, Benin republic has lot of interesting places to visit and relax. Check out places worth visiting via this link

A visit to Snake Temple , Quidah Benin Rep.

A visit to Snake Temple , Quidah Benin Rep.

You can download the Songhai Training Brochure TRAINING PROGRAMS_2014

All the best!!! You can send any further questions to whalayojo@gmail.com or comment under this blog post.

Photo CREDIT in order of arrangement in this post- Kusimo Idris, Seun Oladapo and Awoyinka Tosin

128 comments

    1. Good job Olawale.Pls any chance i could get a job there?I submitted my CV sometime ago but never got any reply probably because it was written in English,i later found out that the PR personnel speaks just french!THANKS

      Like

      1. Unfortunately, Ezekiel I have little or no knowledge about their recruitment process. What I can say is reach out to them via email or through their website. If that does not work, go to the centre for a few days and discuss with them.

        Like

    2. One million gboza, big big kudos for all of you at songhai farm ,bringing hope to the hopeless. I want to be there life for training, please send me your brochure

      Like

    3. Thank you for the work you did here in order to help those of us who have interest. I want to ask , how can I get the yellow card then could you help me with the brochure. Thanks.

      Like

    1. You may first need to learn to write comments in English or French. Songhai Farms is a “no-illiterates” zone. Thanks.

      Like

  1. Good day,please am interested in undertaking a training with songhai,I have been trying to reach but to no avail.please advice on what to do.thanks

    Like

    1. Stanley, if you have mailed them and no response, the best course of action is to go there on a day or two visit to meet with their administration and let them know of your intentieon so you can make concrete arrangement on when you want to start the training. All the best

      Like

      1. Please can I do my Industrial Training(IT) @ d songhai farm.I’ld really love to aquire new knowledge abt Agriculture..I am a student of Agricultural Extension @ Federal University Of Technology,Owerri.Imo.

        Like

  2. Good day,please am interested in undertaking a training with songhai hopefully by nxt week,I have been trying to reach but to no avail.please advice on what to do.thanks

    Like

  3. Hello, i’m very interested in the training programs available at songhai but I would like to have

    more details about the fees, duration, accomodation and other relevant information.

    I’m currently schooling in Ghana but I would like to take a course at songhai when i’m done.

    Like

  4. pls bro Olawale Ojo, what do you have as plan for NGO’s eg ORPHANAGE HOME. PLS let us. expeciallg NGO that is having a small farm in other to generate fund to assist the home building. pls respond. God blesss you

    Like

  5. Thank you so very much for putting up this write-up. it is indeed insightful and very helpful. I will be aking arrangement for four-month training session there. Unfortunately I do no understand a thing in French. So I guess my first assignment is to learn some basics before making a booking with the institution.

    Can you oblige a one-on-one interation with you – on the phone, BB, personal e-mail etc? I will really like to hook up with you. Once again, thank you so very much for this peice.

    Like

  6. Hello bro, I really appreciate your effort over here, you are doing a great work. Please I will like to know detail about fishery course. I want to know the cost for 1 month or 6month program so that I can join them next month. Also please which module is better between a month or 6month? Travel with my national Identity card to songhai is it accepted?. Thank Paul

    Like

  7. Good morning Mr. Ojo,
    Am an elder, about 58 years old interested in poultry production and fish farming and also animal feeds production. I have just retired from regular paid job and wish to invest my small savings in these ventures mentioned earlier.
    I really want to know if there is provision on hands on training for my group. Of course to short stay type to start with if possible. Duration could be from one week to one month. right now I raise turkey and chickens at my back yard to home consumption, thinking of going commercial.

    Thanks for your kind assistance.

    Muhammad Baba

    Like

  8. Thanks alot for good work.
    I to start my training in November this year for six months how many courses can I take? Thanks Michael

    Like

  9. Good Job mr Wale. That was really informative. I think Shongai farms ought to be paying you for this. I have been to Shongai once with a resolve to go back for a training, so this is really helpful. As a young Nigerian Agropreneur however, I will like to have a one-on-one conversation with you just to exchange ideas. God bless

    Like

  10. thanks for your various efforts.pls am finding it difficult to download the training brochure and its important I have an idea of what the training is like.am particularly interested in fish farming.thanks once again.

    Like

      1. Pls I will like to have a brochure too because I was trained at songhai in delta thinking I can still learn here

        Like

      1. The information given are quite detailed and direct. Kindly send to me the brochure for their training programme.

        Like

  11. Please am an IT student, and I want to undergo the trainning during my IT period which will comence by feb 9 next two months. Please is there any way I can get an aceptance letter to present in my department?

    Like

  12. Please I realy need it, please do reply. I have been trying the number writting there, bt its not going. If there is any no apart frm that one, pls can I get it or even yur own too. Tnk u Mr Ojo

    Like

  13. Mr ojo,,,,,am a Futa student,,,i wish to do my IT in songahi farms,,,,wah do u think and how possible it is???

    Like

  14. pls I want to enrol for poultry management, fishery, snailry and biogas pls I want to ask the time it would take me in learning dis and can I learn in two years and also d fees

    Like

  15. Hi Ola,
    I really have passion for agriculture,particullarly animal rearing(piggery,goat,cow,grass-cutter and poultry,then fishery.presently i have a small business i am managing, as such,i dont have so much time to spend if i enroll in songhai.My question is,how is their program structured?for someone like me that have interest in these many areas,is the program structured in such a way that i get trained on a particullar area like piggrey or i can do all put together say ,if i have a month period to stay there.
    Fabian

    Like

  16. please what year do you visited the farm, because I went to the farm last two years, for an execution in my school. and I found the farm very interesting, I just need to know how you manage to stay in their hostel or guest house, or u have family there.

    Like

  17. Wale, thank you for these information. I am a training consultant and am thinking of bringing in some administrators for a week training in human resource management from nigeria. I want to know if HR persons are in the farm to train the trainees am bringing or I should source them from Nigeria and only pay for hall use, accommodation and other resources. Your response please.

    Like

  18. Really informative piece Mr. Ojo, thank you very much for the insight.
    I want to know though if they give certificates at the end of the trainings?

    Like

  19. Thank you for this nice write up. It’s quite informative.
    I’d like to ask though, for the six months program, does it mean that one cannot come back home for some break?
    And if one wants to do training for only somethin like Catfish farming or any other in particular, how long do you think one would train for?
    Thank you…

    Like

  20. I’m a plant biology student of bayero university kano, nig.
    We have visited songhai integrated located at dutsin-ma katsina state as part of our fieldcourse. We saw alot of amazing things which can not be stated here, may GOD bless you. pls how can we get ur products especially soaps, since u re not taking it to the market? thanks.

    Like

    1. Thank you Aisha, for reading. Well I don’t work for Songhai so I can’t give a precise answer. But looking at the business angle of it , you can arrange to buy I bulk the soap and resell. What you need to do is to have a contact who works there. Cheers

      Like

  21. Something is missing guyz!! What are the problems encountered when you people are living in that region?? Atleast enumurate some so that we can prepare for it. @ mr. Ojo

    Like

  22. Mr Olawale, you are doing a lot of service to humanity by dis piece. Am quite inspired when I see youths like myself take up farming. However, I’d like it if u kindly send me a brochure and fees list to my email. rilex4u@gmail.com thank you

    Like

  23. Thanks a lot Wale. After going through Songhai’s website, I had a lot of questions. Your post has answered most of them. The information you provided is greatly appreciated.

    Like

  24. Please, is it possible to do the whole training from fingerlings production to table size catfish training in a week or less for those who couldn’t stay for morethan a week?
    Thank you.
    Abbey

    Like

  25. It is quite commendable that you gave good account if your experience and yraining at Songhai farms and for encouraging others to have a feel of your exoerience by assisting to unbindle some of the puzzles of coming there. Keep it up you are really a good ambassador.

    Like

  26. I have sent that an inquiry email but no response. please can you help me with a detailed illustration of what i can do to commence training at Songhai in about two weeks time?
    i only have my passport ready and i am in Nigeria . thanks

    Like

      1. Good day Ola am Aishan From nigeria kaduna state to be presice my elder brother want to come to Porto nova for bussines he want to do same thing in nigeria here and so we are coming together because I will help him translate English to French I heard that they don’t understand English ova there.

        Like

  27. Wale, I am super impressed and encouraged by your willingness and openness to share this resource and knowledge with the world. I would really appreciate if you could send me the brochure, as I intend to take this course next year March 2016 for a month, there about. My email address is akeemada@yahoo.co.uk

    Many thanks in advance

    Like

    1. Hello Emi, I don’t know if I have replied you yet. but I do hope so. Any way, new trainee are taken in at the beginning of every new month. Between the 1st and 5th. So you either go first week in Sept/Octo

      Like

  28. Hello Olawale.

    Thank you for your feedback on this program which is very insightful. I was wondering whether the center is open to admitting non-African trainees?

    Like

  29. Good evening Mr Wale Ojo. I first heard about Shanghai institute in a movie when I was 9 and that catalyzed my passion to study the course I’m studying in the University now- Crop Production and Protection, I strongly hope to have something to do with the institute after graduating from university. Job well done sir

    Like

  30. Please I am interested in commercial farming but has no experience. I plan to undertake a training any where but Songhai model has appealed to me. Do you carry out training here in Nigeria, Lagos or anywhere around?
    If on WhatsApp messenger let me know.Thanks.

    Like

  31. so how much do you charge for a six months intensive training.and what guarantee do you making a good living after even when you don’;t have capital,or ,will you be employed by songhai?

    Like

  32. Wale, well done for this great job you are doing. We are young ladies who would like to establish a young farmers’ club in our area. And in order to stimulate the youth, we would visit the Songhai farms. Please can you assist with some information. Thank you.

    Like

      1. sir wale I see u Ben doin a great job n GOd will bless u 4 this I went tru thr programs n I pick interest in farm management 4_6 month pls I wld like 2 no the fees per month n processes 2 go tru 2 come over n the recent broque 2 guide me pls sir I rely Nid it hassanmoh143@gmail.com

        Like

  33. Just received this link from a sister of mine and I have beginning to love it. In learning exposure to the real world plays a very vital role and I think I have found some solution to my Agribusiness

    Like

  34. I was at SONHGAI center for only ten days on management course with a team of Malawians in 2013 and ever since, I have been thinking to develop similar approach here in Malawi but with women and girls. How do you advise me to do it? Please I need your expertise and advise.
    Grace Kulupando – MALAWI

    Like

  35. Dear Mr Olawale Ojo please i would like to know the training Cost in Naira considering the current exchange rate and how much is the accommodation within the farm, which language will be used for the training Please send me the brochure directly and any other necessary information
    Regards

    Like

Leave a Reply

